As a former graduate of Thomas R. Proctor, I take delight in seeing someone that discerns a need and attempts to fix the matter. Asking Governor Cuomo for state assistance is not the answer, a local philanthropic solution for the school would be the best choice and the quickest way to solve the schools concerns.
Involving the government always has its drawbacks and never ceases to press its concerns upon administrators. Budgetary issues will always run rampant unless an alternative process such as continual philanthropic help rises to the forefront with a plan for the maroon and white

Love and Rage Media Collective

An Open Letter to Governor Cuomo

Dear Governor Cuomo,

My name is Trinh Truong and I am writing to share the sad but true story about the status of my public education. I’m a senior at Thomas R. Proctor High School in Utica, New York. My school is in a very urban area with a wide range of cultural and socioeconomic diversity. There are 2,800 students that attend my high school. There are over forty-two languages spoken at my school and forty-four percent of the students live at or below the poverty line. My high school is representative of the community in which I reside; there are 60,000 residents in Utica, with about 25% of them being refugees.

The poverty rate in my city is very high, so on top of having the double-edged sword of diversity we also have a weak tax base.

The population of our school district…

View original post 877 more words

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

